Update: Jill Stein and Israel-Palestine

In my previous post, I published a letter I’d written to the Stein campaign. I got the chance to ask Dr. Stein about it today at Occupy in Manhattan. Basically, she said that “non-state actors” was a typo, and when I pressed her on the issue of aid she said that all foreign aid, including/especially military aid to repressive regimes, would be examined critically.

In addition, she went on to say that the appearance of “balance” in the statement I referred to (i.e. the sense of addressing all parties equally) was a political consideration that ultimately didn’t reflect the spirit of her policy, which is indeed primarily concerned with the crimes of Israel as a state. Given my expectations, I’m reasonably satisfied with these answers.

Leave a Reply

